Objet phare des musées de Grasse

Museum of Art and History of Provence

French-style gown

05 June 2014 / 17h00

French-style gown

17th century - fabric, cotton fabric

Museum of the Art and History of Provence - donation by Jourdan-Barry

Inv. 2010.0.2

The Museum's textile collection, which was initiated in 1920, represents a rich and homogeneous set of nearly 2,500 items, including apparel for men, women, adults and children, as well as accessories (hats, shoes, gloves, umbrellas, etc.), from the 17th to the 20th century. All items are from Provence and often from the Grasse region.

Because of the high quality of its pieces, the Jourdan-Barry fund is exceedingly remarkable and a tribute to the collector Pierre Jourdan-Barry. Originally from Marseille and a businessman specialized in ship brokering, Jourdan-Berry was attracted by all forms of art from a very young age and put together exceptional collections which are among our era's most important. This group, which comes from the Marseille region as well as from Mons (Var department), where part of the Jourdan-Barry family originated, was donated shortly after the creation of the Museum by Théodore Jourdan-Barry and was later supplemented by his widow.

This French-style dress, made of a short jacket and an off-white cotton skirt, is decorated with floral and plant patterns in bouquets embroidered with chain-stitching using polychrome wool threads. It is edged with narrow ruffles.

Objet phare des musées de Grasse

Musée d'Art et d'Histoire de Provence

Robe à la française

05 Juin 2014 / 17h00

Robe à la française

XVIIIe -  Tissu, cotonnade

Musée d’Art et d’Histoire de Provence – Don Jourdan-Barry

Inv. 2010.0.2

La collection textile du musée, constituée à partir des années 1920, représente un ensemble riche et homogène de près de 2500 pièces : costumes masculins, féminins, pour adultes et pour enfants, accessoires (chapeaux, chaussures, gants, ombrelles…), du XVIIIe au début du XXe siècle proviennent tous de Provence et souvent de la région de Grasse.

Le fonds Jourdan-Barry, de par la qualité des pièces qu’il comporte, est un des fonds les plus remarquables, témoignage également du collectionneur Pierre Jourdan-Barry. D'origine marseillaise et homme d'affaires spécialisé dans le courtage de navires, il fut dès son plus jeune âge, attiré par toutes les formes d'art et a ainsi rassemblé des collections exceptionnelles parmi les plus importantes de notre époque. Cet ensemble qui provient de la région marseillaise mais aussi de celle de Mons (Var) d’où une partie de la famille est également originaire, a été offert peu de temps après la création du musée par Théodore Jourdan-Barry puis augmenté par sa veuve.

Cette robe à la française, se composant d’une veste « pet en l’air » et d’une jupe  en cotonnade blanc cassé, est ornée de motifs floraux et végétaux en bouquets brodés au point de chaînette avec des brins de laine polychrome. Des falbalas assez étroits la bordent.