The MIP's Gardens

Learn more by downloading the press release: 

979 chemin des Gourettes
06370 Mouans-Sartoux

Entre Mouans-Sartoux et Mougins, en Face de Botanic

979 chemin des Gourettes 06370 Mouans-Sartoux

Salvia sclarea

Salvia sclarea

Salvia sclarea L.

Lamiaceae family

Of the multitude of species of sage, only clary sage is used in perfumery. That is why it developed in the Grasse region between the two wars. Perfumes based on clary sage were also very fashionable after the 1st World War. It flowers from July to September and provides several products. The essential oil gives off a sweet, ethereal, herbaceous note and the concrete adds a note of ambergris in some male and female fragrances.

Narcissus

Narcissus

Narcissus poeticus L.

Amaryllidaceae family

Of 22 species of narcissus, the most widely used in perfumery is the Narcissus poeticus known as white Jeannette or Poison virgin. It grows wild in the mountain meadows. Auvergne provides the only French production of cultivated narcissus. Its flowers have a particular olfactory note popular with perfumers. They are harvested in April and May.

Tuberose

Tuberose

Polianthes tuberosa L.

Amaryllidaceae family

The tuberose's perfume, rich and honeyed floral bouquet, is one of the most powerful in the vegetable kingdom. In 1632, it was introduced in Provence where its olfactory power seduced glovers working with scented leathers. Tuberose only flowers once in July-August. The corollas are harvested at dawn. The absolute from pure tuberose is now one of the most expensive extracts available to the perfumer.

Iris

Iris

Iris pallida Lam and Iris germanica L.

Iridaceae family

Only iris rhizomes - that is to say, the buried part - interested perfumers. After drying for three years, the latter can produce a fine powder containing an essential oil called " iris butter ". Its scent is flowery, sweet rich, oily and resistant to the sensitivity of violet, a lightly wooded powder.

 

May rose

May rose

Rosa x centifolia

Rosaceae family

The Damascus rose, rose centifolia or May rose is one of the few roses used in perfumery. It is native to eastern Caucasus and would have passed through Persia before arriving in Europe in the late sixteenth century. The harvest takes place in May and early June. The may rose has a rich and sweet smell, it is deep pink and very tenacious. The dew note is one of the most commonly used notes in perfumery.

Iris

Titre: 
Iris

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - The MIP's Gardens

Les jardins du MIP

Learn more by downloading the press release: 

979 chemin des Gourettes
06370 Mouans-Sartoux

Entre Mouans-Sartoux et Mougins, en Face de Botanic

979 chemin des Gourettes 06370 Mouans-Sartoux

Narcisse

Narcisse

Narcissus poeticus L.

Famille des Amaryllidaceae

Sur 22 espèces de narcisse, le plus utilisé dans la parfumerie est le Narcissus poeticus qu’on appelle aussi Jeannette blanche, ou Herbe à la vierge. Il pousse de manière spontanée dans les prairies de montagne. L’Auvergne fournit la seule production française de narcisses cultivés. Ses fleurs possèdent une tonalité olfactive particulière très appréciée des parfumeurs. Elles sont récoltées en avril et mai. 

Tubéreuse

Tubéreuse

Polianthes tuberosa L.

Famille des Amaryllidaceae

Le parfum de la tubéreuse, bouquet floral très riche et mielleux, est l’un des plus puissants du règne végétal. En 1632, elle est introduite en Provence où sa puissance olfactive séduit les gantiers qui travaillent les cuirs parfumés. La tubéreuse ne fleurit qu’une seule fois en juillet-août. Les corolles sont récoltées à l’aube. L’absolue de tubéreuse pure est aujourd’hui l’un des extraits les plus chers mis à la disposition du parfumeur. 

Iris

Iris

Iris pallida Lam et Iris germanica L.

Famille des Iridaceae

Seuls les rhizomes de l’iris - c’est-à-dire la partie enterrée – intéresse les parfumeurs. Ceux-ci, après un séchage de trois ans, permettent de produire une poudre fine dont on tire une huile essentielle appelée « beurre d’iris ». Son odeur est fleurie, riche douce, grasse et tenace au délicat caractère de violette, poudré légèrement boisé. 

Rose de mai

Rose de mai

Rosa x centifolia

Famille des Rosaceae

Avec la rose de Damas, la rose Centifolia, ou rose de mai, est l’une des rares roses utilisées en parfumerie. Elle serait originaire du Caucase oriental et aurait transité par la Perse avant d’arriver en Europe à la fin du XVIe siècle. La récolte a lieu en mai et début juin. La rose de mai possède une odeur riche et sucrée, profondément rosée et très tenace. La note rosée est l’une des notes les plus utilisées en parfumerie. 

Pages

S'abonner à RSS - Les jardins du MIP